Don R. Boyd Medal for Excellence in Gulf Coast Geology

This award is in honor of Don R. Boyd, a former President of GCAGS. Don was in a leadership position at the local, regional, and national levels of geological societies; and all the while, he was conducting innovative and successful exploration projects.


This honor is restricted to members of affiliated GCAGS societies. While not mandatory, it is desirable for the recipient to be present to receive the award. The Boyd Medal is the GCAGS’s highest award. It will be bestowed not more than once a year and not necessarily every year.

Guidelines for Consideration of Candidates

Candidates for the Don R. Boyd Medal for Excellence in Gulf Coast Geology should have achieved distinguished standing in at least two of the following three areas:  (1) Gulf Coast Basin research geology, (2) Gulf Coast Basin oil and gas exploration, and (3) professional leadership in the GCAGS and in at least one of its member societies.

Procedures for Recommendation

There is no prescribed nomination form for this award.  Nominators must provide a biographical summary that cites accomplishments that fulfil this award's requirements. As for all GCAGS awards, nominations should be accompanied with an letter of recommendation from the nominating society. Nominations should be submitted to the chair of the Awards & Nominations Committee. The chair will submit the committee's recommendations for the award to the GCAGS Board of Directors for approval at its Mid-year Meeting. All nominations not selected for an award in any one year will be retained for future consideration in the next year and need not be resubmitted, but additional information may be submitted in order to update files. Nominations will be held for consideration for up to three years.

Description of the Award

This award is a cast brass medallion held in a walnut box, the top of which bears the GCAGS medallion. The award medallion will have the recipient's name, the designation "Don R. Boyd Medal for Excellence in Gulf Coast Geology" and the date awarded. The President of the GCAGS or the Awards & Nominations Committee Chairman will present the award.

The deadline for nominations for all 2016 GCAGS Awards is February 15, 2017.  Please submit nomination letter and support materials by mail or email to:

Brent Hopkins
Suemaur Exploration & Production LLC
539 N. Carancahua, Ste. 1100, Corpus Christi, TX 78401
Phone: 361-884-8824 x1101

Copyright © 2017