Outstanding Educator Award

The Outstanding Educator Award is presented in recognition of outstanding contributions in the education and training of geologists. The award recognizes classroom teaching and may include outstanding research and publication as contributions to the education and training of geologists. It is designed to honor those educators in academia who have made a major positive impact in the lives of Gulf Coast geologists.


This honor is not restricted to members of affiliated societies, but recommendations must come from a GCAGS member or from an affiliated society. It is not mandatory, but desirable to have the recipient present to receive the award at the annual meeting. This honor may be given to more than one outstanding educator in any specific year.

Guidelines for Consideration of Candidates

A candidate for the Outstanding Educator Award should have distinguished himself or herself in geological teaching and training, having been an inspiration to his students. The candidate should also have publications that are contributions to the science of geology and exhibit creative thinking or analysis.

Procedures for Recommendation

Nominations for this award should be submitted on the prescribed nomination form, along with supporting documentation and a letter of recommendation from the nominating society, to the chair of the Awards & Nominations Committee. The committee will review the nomination materials and submit their recommendation to the Board of Directors at the Mid-year Meeting. All nominations not selected for an award in any one year will be retained for future consideration in the next year and need not be resubmitted, but additional information may be submitted in order to update files. Nominations will be held for consideration for up to three years.

Description of the Award

This award is a walnut plaque bearing the GCAGS medallion in brass, the recipient's name, the designation "GCAGS Outstanding Educator Award" and the date awarded. The plaque will be presented by the President of the Association or by the Awards and Nominations Committee Chair.

The deadline for nominations for all 2016 GCAGS Awards is February 15, 2017Please submit nomination letter, form and support materials by mail or email to:

Brent Hopkins
Suemaur Exploration & Production LLC
539 N. Carancahua, Ste. 1100, Corpus Christi, TX 78401
Phone: 361-884-8824 x1101


Outstanding Educator Award


MS Word Document

Copyright © 2017