Statesmanship Award

The GCAGS Statesmanship Award was created in 2007 to honor Alfredo E. Guzmán for his lead role in the expansion of the Gulf Coast Association of Geological Societies to include the Asociación Mexicana de Geólogos Petroleros.  He was recognized for his statesmanship in achieving that important step toward unity of the geological community surrounding the Gulf of Mexico.  Although Señor Guzmán remains the only recipient of the Statesmanship Award, and circumstances similar to those of his achievements might occur only rarely, the award could indeed be given in the future to someone whose outstanding accomplishments within the framework of the GCAGS can be categorized as statesmanship.

Procedures for Recommendation

There is no prescribed nomination form for the GCAGS Statesmanship Award.  Submittal of a nomination for this award should be made in writing to the chair of the Awards & Nominations Committee.  The letter of nomination should contain a clear explanation of the nominee’s role as statesman in matters of the GCAGS and be accompanied by any supporting documents and additional letters of testament.  The nomination can be submitted by either a GCAGS affiliated society or by an individual member of an affiliated society.

The deadline for nominations for all 2016 GCAGS Awards is February 15, 2017.  Please submit nomination letter and support materials by mail or email to:

Brent Hopkins
Suemaur Exploration & Production LLC
539 N. Carancahua, Ste. 1100, Corpus Christi, TX 78401
Phone: 361-884-8824 x1101

Copyright © 2017